TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of October 21, 2022

Call to Order:

Chairperson Alderman Walter Miller called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:35am at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Walter Miller (Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport
Ricardo Samaniego (V-Chair)	Judge, El Paso County	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
3. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Dino Coronado	Alderman, Town of Clint
4. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
5. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District
6. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso		
7. Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3		
8. Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator		
9. Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX		
10. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton		
11. Cissy Lizarraga	City of El Paso Representative – District 8		
12. Oscar Leeser	Mayor, City of El Paso		
13. Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX		
14. Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM		
15. Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77th District	MPO STAFF	
16. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
17. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
18. Henry Rivera	City of El Paso Representative - District 7	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
19. Manuel Sanchez	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County	Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
20. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Tim McDaniel	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
21. Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
22. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Gabriela Lopez	Transportation Financial Analyst
23. Yvette Hernandez	CID Grant Funded Program Director, COEP	George Inostroza	
24. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3		
25. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District		
			<u>'</u>
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Scott White - Velo Paso	Greg Heitman – FHWA		

Jose Barriga – Citizen		
Krystal Lastrope – FHWA		
Genevive Bales – FHWA		

(Meeting began with 18 members)

- •Chairperson, Walter Miller opened Public Comment:
- 1. Richard Dayoub commented.
- Chairperson, Walter Miller, closed Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

- 1. Minutes of the August 19, 2022, EPMPO TPB meeting.
 - Motion to approve the minutes of the August 19, 2022, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.
- Consider adopting the proposed 2023 TPB meeting schedule
 Motion to adopt the proposed 2023 TPB meeting schedule made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Judge
 Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a letter of support for the University Transportation Center Initiative Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign a letter of support for the University Transportation Center Initiative made by Commissioner Manuel Sanchez and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Consider amendments to the Amended Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 MTP, 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and 2023-2026 TIP to program the South Central Regional Transit District (SCRTD) Electric Buses Acquisition project using New Mexico Congestion Mitigation Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) program funds in FY 2023*
 - Cissy Lizarraga commented
 - Ellen Smyth commented
 - Manuel Sanchez commented
 - Eduardo Calvo commented

Motion to amend the Amended Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 MTP, 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and 2023-2026 TIP to program the South Central Regional Transit District (SCRTD) Electric Buses Acquisition project using New Mexico Congestion Mitigation Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) program funds in FY 2023* made by Trent Doolittle and seconded by Representative Henry Rivera Motion passed unanimously.

5. Consider amendments to the RMS 2050 MTP and RMS 2023-2026 TIP to program the Ysleta Port of Entry Pedestrian and Site Improvements project using Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) grant funds under TxDOT Category 3 in FY 2025*.

Motion to amend the RMS 2050 MTP and RMS 2023-2026 TIP to program the Ysleta Port of Entry Pedestrian and Site Improvements project using Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) grant funds under TxDOT Category 3 in FY 2025* made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.

- David Coronado commented
- Claudia Ordaz commented
- Representative Henry Rivera
- 6. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to execute Task Order #9 with the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) for development and support of the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) and Project Request Form (PRF) web applications.

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to execute Task Order #9 with the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) for development and support of the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) and Project Request Form (PRF) web applications made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.

7. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to submit an application and sign a letter of support for the NMDOT Call for Projects – I-10 & I-40 Planning Funds.

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to submit an application and sign a letter of support for the NMDOT Call for Projects – I-10 & I-40 Planning Funds made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Mayor Oscar Leeser. Motion passed unanimously.

- Trent Doolittle commented
- 8. Consider approving amendments to the EPMPO Bylaws.

Motion to delete Item 8 made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 9. Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) Call for Projects
 - Presenter: Jose Madrid (TxDOT)
 - Eduardo Calvo commented
- 10. September 2022 Project Readiness Report (PRR)

Presenter: Tim McDaniel (MPO)

11. FY 2024-2025 Transportation Alternative Set Aside (TASA) Program Call for Projects

Presenter: Tim McDaniel (MPO)

12. EPMPO Federal Transit Administration (FTA) 5310 Request for Proposals for FY 2023-2024

Presenter: Tim McDaniel (MPO)

13. NM CMAQ Mandatory Call for Projects

Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)

- Trent Doolittle commented
- 14. RMS 2020 Project Status Report Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)
- 15. Executive Director's Report
 - a) IIJA Funding Programs and Regional Opportunities
 - b) Statewide TxDOT-MPO Safety Task Force
 - c) Letter of Support for PdN Trail.

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director (MPO)

- Raymond Telles commented
- David Coronado commented

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>November 18, 2022,</u> at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

16. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:30 a.m. made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion carried unanimously.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area